Afcon : Kelechi Iheanacho Dropped As Gernot Rohr Confirms Nigeria’s 23- man Squad


Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has announced his final team list for this years edition of the biennal Afcon Tournament in Egypt, and Kelechi Iheanacho’s name was not on the list.

Iheanacho who was an unused substitute on Saturday’s goalless draw against Zimbabwe has had to endure a serious dip in form during the past season, which is a normal phase in every striker’s career.

The Super Eagles are scheduled to travel to Ismailia, the capital city of Egypt later today, where they will continue their preparations for the Afcon tournament before playing against Senegal in another friendly match at the Ismailia Stadium on 16th June.

The Three times African Champions are scheduled to play in Group B and will begin their campaign on 26th June against Burundi in Alexandria.

Full Squad:

Goal Keepers:

-Francis Uzoho

-Ikechukwu Ezenwa

-Daniel Akpeyi


-Olaoluwa Aina

-Abdullahi Shehu

-Chiedozie Awaziem

-William Troost Ekong

-Leon Balogun

-Kenneth Omeruo

– Jamiu Collins.

  • Midfielders :

-John Obi Mikel

-Wilfred Onyinye Ndidi

-Oghenekaro Etebo

-John Ogu.

  • Forward:

-Ahmed Musa

-Victor Osimhen

-Moses Simon

-Henry Onyekuru

-Odion Ighalo

-Alex Iwobi

-Samuel Kalu

-Paul Onuachu

-Samuel Chukwueze.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here